Governor Murphy Signed New Law for Electrical License Requirements

On December 17, 2018 Governor Murphy signed in to law P.L. 2018, CHAPTER 155, 2018 Assembly, No. 2182.

 

On December 17, 2018, Governor Murphy signed in to law P.L. 2018 Chapter 155. This law is a change to the current licensing act for electricians regarding the prerequisite to be eligible to take the electrical licensing examination.

                                                               

What does this mean to electricians? Nothing unless you aspire to be a New Jersey Licensed Electrical Contractor or one day to posses a New Jersey Electrical Contractor Business Permit. In that case it means everything!

First, in order to take the licensing exam you must first be approved by the New Jersey Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors to take the electrical contractors licensing exam. In accordance with the new law P.L. 2018 CHAPTER 1552018 Assembly, No. 2182 you must prove you have successfully completed a four-year registered journeyman apprenticeship program that has been approved by the United States Department of Labor. In addition to having proved you successfully completed a four-year electrical apprenticeship program you must also provide proof you completed one-year as a journeyman.

This makes a total of 5-years you must prove to the board. If you have met these criteria among other requirements, you may be eligible to take the exam.

What if I want to take my exam now?

The law includes a 4-year grace period to honor the original licensing act. If you currently qualify in accordance with New Jersey Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors to take the exam, you may do so as stated below in the except of the law.

“During the five-year period the applicant shall spend one year as a journeyman electrician and four years in an electrical apprenticeship program accredited and approved by the United States Department of Labor, with proof of passage and successful completion of this program while actively engaged or employed as an electrical apprentice. For a period of four years following the effective date of P.L. , c. (C. ) (pending before the Legislature as this bill), each year of employment in the electrical trade or enrollment in a formal electrical apprenticeship program completed prior to the effective date of P.L. , c. (C. ) (pending before the Legislature as this bill), shall be accepted by the board in lieu of one year’s enrollment in an electrical apprenticeship program accredited and approved by the United States Department of Labor, up to a maximum total credit of four years” 

What if I currently do not meet the requirements of the grace period?

If you do not fall under the provisions of the grace period and you are currently enrolled in or intend on being enrolled in a registered apprenticeship program, you are be required to register your “apprenticeship status” with the New Jersey Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors (NJBOEE). See the law except below.

““b. On and after the effective date of P.L. , c. (C. ) (pending before the Legislature as this bill), any person desiring to register as an apprentice electrician enrolled in an electrical contractor’s apprenticeship program accredited and approved by the United States Department of Labor shall make an application to the board to be so registered and shall pay all the fees required in  connection therewith, which fees shall be established, prescribed or changed by the board to the extent necessary to defray all proper expenses incurred by the board to administer the provisions of P.L. , c. (C. ) (pending before the Legislature as this bill). Fees shall not be fixed at a level, however, that will raise amounts in excess of the amount estimated to be so required. (cf: P.L.2001, c.21, s.4)”

Is waiting to act on getting my license an issue?

If you have not completed an approved registered apprentice ship program but are currently eligible or will be eligible in the next 12 months you need to act as soon as possible! Waiting too long may place you in a procrastinators worst nightmare.

Leaving this to the last minute will be a large mistake. We all have a lot going on and everyone knows two years will have passed very quickly. It is important to remember that the electrical licensing exam is a hard test. 9-1/2 hours the first time you take it. If you do fail, each time you must wait 6-months prior to retesting. That alone could cause run out the grace period and trigger the mandatory 5-Year requirements of a 4-year apprenticeship program and one year journeyman. as well as the require registration to the NJBOEE. Waiting could be your biggest mistake ever.

What does New Jersey Education and Seminars (NJES) offer?

NJES offers license exam prep courses that prepare you to PASS your exam the first time! NJES also offers assistance with your exam application to the NJBOEE. Save time and avoid denial based to take the exam for preventable mistakes.

Click here and checkout our electrical license exam prep-course!